Daily Archives: October 21, 2009

Halloween – craft ideas and history

Halloween creates marvelous opportunities for craft projects with children, grandchildren

Halloween creates marvelous opportunities for craft projects with children, grandchildren

It’s snowing this morning. Under a grey sky, the snow coats the bright colors of autumn like white icing.  I’m safe and warm inside, though, sipping my coffee, enjoying my Halloween display.

It’s a collection of memories that pleasantly “haunt” me.  I wore the witch’s hat many years ago when I greeted the trick-or-treaters. There are four mini-pumpkins in the display, representing my husband, me and our two daughters.

Those little floating creatures are memorabilia from my Girl Scout troop’s last camping trip. I had been a Girl Scout leader for eight years for my two daughters.  My older daughter had left years before, and the girls from my younger daughter’s troop had reached middle school, thrilled to enter that new chapter of their lives and not so thrilled to continue with scouting. The years since have passed as quickly as this storm front.

Inexpensive materials and a small time investment produce fun and warm memories for Halloween

Inexpensive materials and a small time investment produce fun and warm memories for Halloween

But these little floaters remain, and they can be a fun project idea for you and your little ghouls for this Halloween.  Using inexpensive supplies, each troop made a Halloween-related item to give to other troops.  Our troop made the little ghosts.  So simple – just cut a piece of white fabric (I sew, so I always have a stash), and drape it over a lollipop, tie it with a twistie or orange ribbon, and use a Sharpie to draw eyes and mouth.  These look so cute when tied on the naked branches of a small deciduous tree.

Note the  “ghost” puzzle pieces, very easy and clever.  Just paint puzzle pieces and draw a scary face on it.  The bigger the puzzle piece the better for small hands.

We are far from the ancient Celtic celebration of Samhain (pronounced sow-in) and the Druid celebrations of  “All Hallow’s Eve”(Hallow Evening, Hallow Even, Hallow E’en, Halloween).

New traditions have evolved– seductive costumes in addition to frightening ones, trick or treating for “children” of all ages, and elaborate haunted houses.  It’s a riot of creativity that inspires me, and several billion more people.

Have fun with your little ghosts and goblins, and have a safe and Happy Halloween!

To learn more click here – Celtic Samhain celebration All Hallow’s Eve

Have Halloween craft ideas to share?  Please do!  We’d love to see them!

Please support our sponsor by browsing their hand-helping openers that make daily opening tasks easier and spare hands and joints from injury.